Where to start quilting if you are a beginner

I was asked by a friend where would be a good place to start making machine-pieced quilts if you knew nothing and had never made one before. I couldn’t answer off the top of my head because starting points are so varied. When I started, I did so as a dressmaker who had been making clothes for some time so I just found something I wanted to make and made it. My friend is an experienced sewist and so is not starting from the point of never having sewed but more not sure how to put colours together. It is a really difficult question to sort out but I am going to give it a go.

Method 1 is the chaos approach, which is mine. I made a quilt I liked, realised I wasn’t very good at certain things and so looked for other quilts that had them in, e.g. accuracy with points, and practised whilst making the quilt. I then saw something else I liked and moved on to it, and then circled back and filled in the gaps of things I didn’t know how to do or wasn’t very good at. I bought patterns because they often have more help and video support and I read books by modern quilters because at this point I realised that was where I preferred to work. I followed people on Youtube and Instagram. I am still unsure about putting colour together so tend to make a quilt with colours that are suggested and then make it again with my own colours when I am a bit more confident about what might work. It is by no means a linear pathway but I don’t need that. However, other people do and so this collection of resources is in answer to that.

I have divided the pathway into working with different shapes – it is definitely easier to work with squares than it is curves and circles but you might want to start with curves. If nothing else, this will give you stepping stones about the range of things you can do with each shape and you can then choose your pathway knowing some of the elements that you might consider. So, the three shapes are:

  • Squares, rectangles and strips with emphasis on charm squares, layer cakes, jelly rolls and fat quarters with some cutting. The improv section focuses on cutting and inserting in the above shapes and wonky blocks. There is also some play with colour, lights and darks, volume and large and small patterns on the fabric.
  • Triangles. This section starts with half-square triangles (HSTs) and triangles on their own. There are a lot of blocks that can be made with HSTs but also included are half-rectangle triangles (HRTs). There are many different ways to make HSTs so it is probably worth trying all methods at this point to find your favourite. This will then lead on to flying geese blocks and different ways to make stars. The improv section looks at wonky blocks and how you can make your own quilt with the knowledge you now have with squares, rectangles, triangles, wonky blocks and cutting and inserting. Further play with colour leading to choosing your own colours.
  • Curves which can be gentle or quarter and semi-circles providing a whole range of other shapes that can be made including circles. Improv work can focus on cutting freehand shapes, cutting and inserting. Colour work will lead to creating your own quilt.

You will see that in each shape there is some work on improv quilts, those that are created on the go, freehand, and some work with colour. You could work through just the colour elements if that is what you wanted to focus on or you could start with the improv elements and practise them with no quilt in mind. Anything is possible.

There are some skills which are beneficial wherever you choose to start and they are:

  • Cutting and prepping in bulk
  • chain stitching blocks
  • pressing seams
  • matching seams and points

There is also some equipment that is necessary:

  • cutting mat
  • rotary cutter
  • ruler to use with your rotary cutter
  • iron and ironing board or mat

but of course there are plenty of other items that you could have. These will become necessary once you start to make quilts and discover what would make your life easier.

Do you think I have missed anything out?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *